Legislators have recently passed HB3878 which increases the Rental Housing Support Fee by an additional $9.00. The increase affects recording fees in all 102 counties throughout the State of Illinois and will take effect July 1, 2023.
Over a quarter million documents, including deeds, mortgages, military records, surveys, plats of subdivisions, release mortgages, state and federal liens, judgements, and miscellaneous documents.
Beginning in 1830 and continuing to the present. The Coles County Clerk's Office records nearly 12,000 valuable records in an average year.
Coles County records are open to the public. Free access to indexes from December 1978 to the present is available to those searching Coles County Records. Actual copies of documents from April 25, 1996, to the present are available for purchase.
This is a subscription based service that allows users to search in much the same way they would at the terminal in the Recorder's Office.
Users: Frequent Searchers (Title Companies, Banks, etc.)
This is an on-demand service designed for occasional users.
Users: Infrequent Searchers that need quick access to a record.
All instruments presented for recording must meet the requirements set forth in Illinois Statutes. Standard documents must be on 8 1/2" X 11" paper; individual sheets and/or front and back will be accepted. Print must be legible. First page must have 3" X 5" blank space in upper right corner with 1/2" clean margins on sides and bottom, as well as on all other pages. Maximum document size is 8 1/2" X 14". Fees are as follows:
|STATE LIENS/RELEASE OF STATE LIENS||$11.00|
|FEDERAL LIENS/RELEASE OF FEDERAL LIENS||$18.00|
|NON STANDARD DOCUMENTS||$84.00|
|ANY DOCUMENT THAT CREATES A DIVISION OF LAND (PLAT ACT WILL BE MARKED "B")|
|ANY DOCUMENT MAKING SPECIFIC REFERENCE TO MORE THAN 5 TAX PARCEL ID NUMBERS|
|ANY DOCUMENT MAKING SPECIFIC REFERENCE TO MORE THAN 5 DOCUMENT NUMBERS|
|ALL UCCS (NEW, AMENDED, TERM, ETC)||$51.00|
|COPIES||$1.00 Per Page|
|CERTIFIED COPIES||$10.00 per document|
ALL Land Related Documents must have parcel ID Numbers and Plat Act Affidavit.
Upper 3x5 right-hand corner must be clear for our recording information. Cover sheet required if corner is not free.
You may download the required Plat Act Affidavit here. Recording fees and revenue tax stamps are payable to the Coles County Recorder in the form of cash, check, or money order.
Subdivision Plats: The maximum size is 30" X 21". Plats must include one mylar and four blueprints; file covenants and restrictions as separate documents. Plats must include school district, flood zone, and parcel ID number.
UCC Filings: Each UCC Filing must be marked "to be filed in real estate records" and include legal description. Amendments and terminations must include original document and UCC numbers.
Electronic real estate recording systems make it possible for county recorders and registrars of title to serve their customers more effectively and efficiently than with traditional paper-based recording systems.